Wednesday, January 13, 2021
11:00 AM PST| 12:00 MST| 1:00 PM CST | 2:00 PM EST

Please register here:
https://redcap.link/Seminar.Registration.01.13.21
Connection information will be provided after registration.

Felicia Hill-Briggs, PhD, ABPP
Professor of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine
Senior Director, Population Health Research and Development
Core Faculty, Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology &
Clinical Research
Johns Hopkins University and Medicine

Social Determinants of Health and Diabetes: Focusing a Newer Lens

Racial/ethnic and socioeconomic disparities in diabetes are longstanding and well documented. While past diabetes disparities research has often highlighted individual-level interventions and behavioral targets to improve disparities, the social determinants of health (SDOH) represent systemic and root cause factors responsible for inequities at the level of populations. Dr. Hill-Briggs will present findings from the ADA’s current SDOH and Diabetes Scientific Review, including nomenclatures for understanding SDOH, evidence of SDOH impact in diabetes,
available recommendations for action to mitigate the SDOH, and recommendations
for the next generation of diabetes research on SDOH.

The Virtual Seminar Series is sponsored by the Diabetes Research Centers and Centers for Diabetes Translational